Shared from the 5/15/2018 American Press eEdition


People shaping the future of Lake Area business


Special to the American Press

McNeese State University nursing graduates Lauren Courville and Lindsey Bufford, both who work at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, received the prestigious Outstanding Community Achievement by a Registered Nurse Award at the 17th annual Nightingale Awards and Gala in Baton Rouge. The nurses were nominated by their McNeese professors, Ann Warner and Tari Dilks. On hand for the presentation are, from left, Warner, Courville, Bufford and Dilks.

Nursing graduates


Two McNeese State University nursing graduates received the prestigious Outstanding Community Achievement by a Registered Nurse Award at the 17thth Annual Nightingale Awards and Gala for their volunteer work at Burton Coliseum with evacuees from Southeast Texas and Southwest Louisiana displaced during the record flooding caused by Hurricane Harvey in August 2017.

Lindsey Bufford, a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, and Lauren Courville, a family nurse practitioner in the Emergency Department at Memorial Hospital, were nominated for this award by their McNeese professors and co-coordinators of graduate nursing, Ann Warner and Tari Dilks.

According to Dilks, the Nightingale Awards are presented by the Louisiana Nurses Foundation and the Louisiana State Nurses Association to recognize the achievements of nurses across the state in a variety of categories.

The Outstanding Community Achievement award is presented for exemplary leadership with significant accomplishments in the community.

Bufford and Courville spearheaded a three-step medical triage center and directed medical response services in conjunction with multiple agencies working with evacuees arriving at Burton Coliseum.

Scott named

to subcommittee

DALLAS — The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency has announced the appointment of Calcasieu Parish Police Jury Commissioner Dennis Scott of Lake Charles to the Small Community Advisory Subcommittee.

The 17-member subcommittee helps EPA develop robust partnerships with small communities to address environmental and public health issues.

Scott served as the president of Louisiana Parishes Against Coastal Erosion and is now in his second term as vice president. He is a committee member of National Association of Counties’ Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee and Gulf States Counties and Parishes Caucus, where he is an immediate past president. He is a veteran of the U.S. Army Infantry and the Louisiana Army National Guard, as well as a business owner. He also served on President Obama’s National Ocean Council Governance Coordinating Committee.

See this article in the e-Edition Here